Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (7) | Projects (16) | Library (5)


Updated to: 13 August 2013

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

The system of EIA legislation is based on the following legislation: the Law of Environment (Law Nº 1333), Regulation of Prevention and Environmental Control (DS No. 24176 from 1995, amended in 2006), the regulation of environmental management (DS No. 24176 from 1995) and the sector environmental regulations. The EIA system is implemented by the Ministry of Environment and Water, sector environmental units for each corresponding Ministry, and environmental units of the local governments in the nine departments. The SEA implementation is awaiting the approval of the Strategic Environmental Assessment Regulation (not yet approved in 2013).

Administrative system: relevant features

The governance structure of the Plurinational State of Bolivia consists mainly of the Presidency (Executive Branch) acting in coordination with the ministries, the Plurinational Legislative Assembly (legislative power) and the different courts which exercise the judicial power. Bolivia is a unitary State organized according to the  Constitution, which was promulgated in 1967, revised in 1994 and changed by the Constituent Assembly in 2009.

The Plurinacional Legislative Assembly (or National Congress) is the national legislature of Bolivia and has its seat in the city of La Paz, seat of Government. It is bicameral, consisting of a House of Representatives and a Senate. The President of the Plurinational Bolivia State is the Chief of State and Government. Along with the Vice-President and Ministers of State they form the executive power.

The President and Vice-President, and the 27 members of the Senate chamber and 130 members of the chamber of deputies are elected directly by universal suffrage for a term of 5 years.

The national environmental authority is the Ministry of Environment and Water. Other important ministries for environmental issues are: Ministry of Mines and Metallurgy and the Ministry of Hydrocarbons and Energy.

There are 9 departments with their local governments of the nine departments. The local governments are the environmental authority in their jurisdiction.

Relevant international conventions

Convention on biological diversity (1994 and ratified in 2003).
RAMSAR Convention on wetlands ratified in 1990.

Environmental Standards: relevant features


  • Regulation of water pollution and atmospheric pollution establishes maximum permissible limits for emissions to water and air, and noise;
  • The solid waste management regulation;
  • Environmental regulation for the oil and gas sector and the environmental regulation for mining activities establish maximum permissible limits for the quality of water and soil;
  • Environmental regulation for the industrial manufacturing sector sets permissible limits for the quality of air, water and soil for the industrial manufacturing sector.

Convention on biological diversity (1994 and ratified in 2003).

Country specific terms or acronyms

  • RGGA = (Reglamento General de Gestión Ambiental),  general regulation on environmental management
  • RPCA = (Reglamento de Prevención y Control Ambiental), regulation on prevention and environmental control
  • RAAM = (Reglamento Ambiental para Actividades Mineras), environmental regulation for mining activities
  • RASIM = (Reglamento Ambiental para el Sector Industrial Manufactorero), environmental regulation for the industry
  • RASH = Reglamento Ambiental para el Sector Hidrocarburos),   environmental regulation for the oil and gas sector
  • AAC = (Autoridad Ambiental Competente), competent environmental authority
  • EEIA = (Estudio de Evaluación de Impacto Ambiental),  environmental impact assessment study
  • DIA = (Declaratoria de Impacto Ambiental), Declaration of environmental impact
  • MA = (Manifiesto Ambiental), environmental declaration
  • FA = (Ficha ambiental), environmental information sheet
  • PASA = (Plan de Aplicación y Seguimiento Ambiental), application and environmental monitoring plan