Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (0) | Projects (1) | Library (0)


Updated to: 27 June 2011

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

Peru has a wide experience in the implementation of EIA. In the last decade the EIA system is developed as a tool for environmental management. Recently SEA implementation is in process (with currently some pilot cases).
The legislation of the national System of Environmental Impact Assessment (SEIA), approved in 2009, sets the procedures for EIA and the SEA. Environmental authorities in the case of the EIA are sectoral authorities. The Ministry of Environment evaluates and approves the SEA.

Administrative system: relevant features

The State of the Republic of the Peru is organized into three branches: the Presidency of the Republic (Executive Branch), Congress (Legislative Branch) and the Supreme courts (Judicial Power). The country is divided into 24 departments (and the constitutional province of Callao), 195 provincial municipalities and 1838 municipal districts. Members of Congress (a single camera with 120 members), the Regional Councils and the Municipal Councils are elected in general elections.
Regional policies are set by the departmental regional governments. The ministries are represented at regional level through their regional offices in each Department.
Provinces and district municipalities are governed by provincial and district councils

Relevant international conventions

Peru ratified the Convention on Wetlands of International Importance (RAMSAR) in 1992.

In 1993 Peru ratified the Convention on Biological Diversity (CBD)

Environmental Standards: relevant features

  • General law of solid waste and its rules of procedure (law 27314)
  • Policy guidelines for Territorial Management, Ministerial Resolution No. 026-2010-MINAM.
  • Rules of Land Classification according to use capacity, Supreme Decree No. 017-2009-AG.

Environmental quality standards :

  • Maximum values of lead concentration, Supreme Decree N ° 069-2003 (PCM)
  • National standards of environmental quality for noise, Supreme Decree N ° 2003-085 (PCM)
  • National standards of environmental quality for non ionising radiation, Supreme Decree N ° 010-2005 (PCM)
  • National standards of environmental quality for water, Supreme Decree N ° 002-2008 (MINAM)
  • National standards of environmental quality for air, Supreme Decree No. 003-2008 (MINAM)

Maximum permisible limits established for:

  • effluents from sewage treatment plants
  • liquid effluents from hydrocarbons activity
  • liquid effluents from mining activity
  • liquid effluents from electricity activity

Country specific terms or acronyms

MINAM = Ministry of Environment (Ministerio de Ambiente)
MINEM = Ministry of Energy and Mines (Ministerio de Energía y Minas)
DGAAM = Directorate of Environmental Affairs of the Ministry of Energy and Mining (Dirección General de Asuntos Ambientales Mineros)
MTC = Ministry of Transport and Communication (Ministerio de Transporte y Comunicación)
SEIA = Environmental Impact Assessment System (Sistema de Evaluación de Impacto Ambiental)
SNIA = National Environmental Information System (Sistema Nacional de Información Ambiental)