Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (0) | Projects (3) | Library (5)


Updated to: 27 January 2015

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

Even though EIA was already practiced earlier, the Environmental Law of 2005 firstly provided comprehensive EA legal requirements. It is the enabling  law for both,  EIA and SEA. Several secondary legislations on EIA further define requirements for EIA. They harmonize Macedonia's EIA system with the European Union directives to support the country's progression towards EU membership. In 2008, Macedonia also transposed the EU directive on SEA into its legislation.


The Ministry for Environment and Physical Planning (MoEPP) is responsible for the implementation of the Environmental Law in Macedonia and is the central authority for EIA and SEA.

Administrative system: relevant features

The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) is a multi-party parliamentary democracy. The legislative power is vested in the unicameral Assembly. The government submits bills to the assembly and decides on policies for the implementation of laws and regulations passed by the legislature. It is also empowered to adopt bylaws as well as other regulatory acts pertaining to the application of laws. Since 2001, decentralization has been a key strategy in Macedonia, implemented through, for example, the law on territorial division.

The Republic of Macedonia is divided into 84 municipalities (opština), 10 of these municipalities together constitute the City of Skopje, a separate unit of local self-government. Macedonia is further subdivided into 8 statistical regions.

At national level, the Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning has environmental management responsibilities. It is organized in following Departments: Department of European Union, Department of Sustainable Development and Investment, Department of Spatial Planning, Department of Environmental Information Centre, Department for Public Communication, Department for General Affairs and the Financial Department. The Ministry also has three bodies as constituent parts, i.e. State Inspectorate of Environment, Office of Environment and Office for spatial information system.

Relevant international conventions

Macedonia became a party to the Ramsar convention in 1995, joined the Arhus convention and the Espoo convention in 1999, and ratified the Convention on Biodiversity in 2005. The country has signed SEA (Kiev) protocol in 2003 and it has ratified it in September 2013.


Environmental Standards: relevant features

Macedonia is in the process of harmonising its environmental standards with those of the EU. A comprehensive set of standards is in place, including standards for noise control and emmissions, waste management, ambient air quality,  and water quality.
More information regarding the country's standards can be found on the website of the Institute for Standardization. It is responsible for the adoption of various standards in Macedonia.

Country specific terms or acronyms

MoEPP = Ministry of Environment and Physical Planning