Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (22) | Projects (11) | Library (11)


Updated to: 27 August 2013

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

EIA as introduced in Georgia through the Law of Georgia on the Protection of the Environment (1996). Specific EIA laws followed and in 2002 and 2003 detailed EIA regulations were issued. After 2003, the EIA regulations have been changed considerably with the aim of simplifying permitting procedures. 
The legislation does not require Screening and Scoping as formal steps of the EIA process. EIA review is further embedded in the process of State Ecological Expertise. Ministry of Environmental Protection of Georgia is the central authority on EIA.

None of the laws currently in force in Georgia contain any provision on SEA. However, requirement on carrying out EIA for plans and programs (what represents SEA in reality) stipulated by the Law on Environmental Permits can be considered as an attempt to introduce the principles of SEA. The Georgian Government signed the Kiev Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment to Espoo Convention in May 2003. It is planning to take steps to ratify the Protocol, which envisages the binding requirement on SEA to all Parties at the very early stage of planning. The  MoE is currently drafting a new law on the environment.

Caucasus Environmental NGO Network (CENN), 2004. Assessment of Effectiveness of Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA) System in Georgia. Kolhoff et al, 2013. EIA in Georgia - state of affairs, Draft.

Administrative system: relevant features

Georgia has 9 administrative regions (Mkharebi), 1 city (k'alak'i), and 2 autonomous republics. The regions include: Guria, Imereti, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Mtskheta-Mtianeti, Racha-Lechkhumi and Kvemo Svaneti, Samegrelo and Zemo Svaneti, Samtskhe-Javakheti, Shida Kartli. The city is Tbilisi whsi is also the capital. The two autonomous republics are: Adjara and Abchazia.

The Ministry of Environment Protection (MoE) is responsible for environmental management at national level. It has 9 departments: Department of Internal Audit, Legal Department, Service of Permits, Administrative Department, Service of Biodiversity Protection, Department of Environmental Policy and International Relations, Executive Personnel of Minister, Service of Public Relations, Department of Integrated Environmental Management.

There are 6 Regional Divisions of Environment Protection of Georgia under the Ministry of Environmental Protection: East Central, West Central, Kakheti, Kvemo Kartli, Samtskhe-Javakheti and Samegrelo - Zemo Svane.

Ministry of Environment Protection:

Relevant international conventions

  • Georgia has ratified the Convention on Biological Diversity in 1994.
  • Georgia has been a contracting party to the Ramsar Convention since 1997.
  • Georgia has ratified the Aarhus Convention in 2000, but not yet approved.
  • Georgia has ratified the Espoo Convention on trans-boundary environmental impacts in 2000, but not yet approved.
  • Georgia has signed the Kiev Protocol on Strategic Environmental Assessment to Espoo Convention in May 2003, but not yet ratified.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

No information

Country specific terms or acronyms

MoE = Ministry of Environment Protection and Natural Resources of Georgia