Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (0) | Projects (5) | Library (1)


Updated to: 27 August 2013

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

Any key highlights or distinguishing features of the country's EIA and SEA system.

Legal provisions for EIA exist since the issance of the Law on Environment of 1993. Since 2002 the environmental legislation in general and also the EIA legislation have been developed considerably. Amendments of the Law on Environmental Protection and the issuance of an EIA Law then also introduced SEA into legislation. SEA is strongly EIA-based and no more detailed regulations have been issued yet. In the process of disposing EU directives on environmental assessment in their environmental law, various Laws and regulations have recently been issued.

The Ministry of Environment, Forests and Water Administration (MoEFWA) is the central EIA and SEA authority. Some EIA related tasks are delegated to Regional Environment Authorities (REAs).

Administrative system: relevant features

Brief description of the country's administrative system, including existing layers of government, agencies with environmental management responsibilities, and other features that are relevant. Not a complete description of the administrative situation.

Albania is divided into twelve counties, if which each is subdivided into several districts.
The main environmental bodies in Albania are the Ministry of Environment Forestry and Water Administration (MoEFWA), the Environment and Forest Agency (EFA) and Environmental Inspectorates (EI).  The EFA has 12 Regional Environment Agencies (REAs).

UNECE 2012. Second Environmental Performance Review of Albania.

Relevant international conventions

Relevant conventions for EIA/SEA which the country has signed/ratified. Links are provided to relevant sites that give more detailed information on the issue.

Albania is party to the Ramsar Convention since 1996. It has also accented the Convention on Biodiversity since 1994. Additionally, Albania became the third Party to the Protocol on SEA on 2 December 2005.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

Brief impression of the country's situation concerning environmental standards. Where relevant, the standards in place are mentioned, as well as their legal status. This is not a complete overview of all the standards in place. Links are provided to relevant sites that give more detailed information on the issue.

No information

Country specific terms or acronyms

Country specific terms and abbreviations relevant for EIA and SEA.

Summary EIA = Partial EIA
Full EIA = Profound EIA

EFA = Environment and Forest Agency
LEP = Law on Environmental Protection
MoEFWA = Ministry of Environment Forestry and Water Administration
REA = Regional Environment Agency