Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (3) | Projects (10) | Library (5)


Updated to: 27 August 2013

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

Legal provisions for EIA exist in Yemen since 1995, when the Environmental Protection Law was issued. EIA remained voluntary until 2005 though, when the Environmental Protection Authority (EPA) got a legal mandate for some EIA-related procedures. Since 2006, the EPA has been preparing a new Environmental Protection Law and also EIA guidelines are under development.

Kolhoff et al., 2013. An analysis framework for characterizing and explaining development of EIA legislation in developing countries - Illustrated for Georgia, Ghana and Yemen. Environmental Impact Assessment Review 38 (2013) 1-15.

Administrative system: relevant features

Yemen has a centralized system, with a head department in Sana’a, and nine regional branch offices with no significant autonomous decision-making responsibilities. These branches mainly have executive and monitoring tasks, and take minor decisions in consultation with the Sana’a office. The role of branches is however not clearly specified in the laws and legislations, but is confirmed by the EPA chairman.


Relevant international conventions

Yemen joined the Ramsar Convention in 2008 and it is a party to the Convention on Biodiversity since 1996.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

No information

Country specific terms or acronyms

EIA  = Environmental Impact Assessment
EIS  = Environmental Impact Statement
EPL  = Environmental Protection Law
EPC  = Environment Protection Council (between 1989 until 2001)
EPA  = Environment Protection Authority (since 2001)                         
MWE  = Ministry of Water and Environment