Sri Lanka

Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (0) | Projects (8) | Library (2)
Sri Lanka


Updated to: 09 October 2013

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

EIA has been in place since 1988. The list of projects that is subject to EIA has been published in a separate gazette notification. Projects require either an Initial Environmental Examination (IEE) or a full Environmental Impact Assessment (EIA). Twentytwo State Agencies have been designed as “Project Approving Agencies” (PAA) for the administration of the EIA process. The Central Environmental Authority (CEA) has primary responsibility for the EIA system as a whole. Public participation is a mandatory requirement of the EIA process and all EIA reports are open for public comments.  EIA reports are published in all three languages currently used in the country.   An SEA system for Sri Lanka is currently under development. There is some legal basis, thought not a fully fledged SEA regulation, and government has issued an SEA guideline.

Administrative system: relevant features

Sri Lanka is divided into 9 provinces and 25 districts. A directly-elected provincial council administers each province. Each district is administered under a District Secretariat. The districts are further subdivided into 256 Divisional Secretary divisions (DS divisions), and these in turn divided into Grama Niladari divisions.

The Ministry of the Environment and Renewable Energy is the authority responsible for environmental management at national level. It has 14 Divisions.

Relevant international conventions

Sri Lanka has ratified the Convention on Biodiversity in 1994. Additionally Sri-Lanka has been a signatory to the Ramsar Convention since 1990 and has three Ramsar sites.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

No information.

Country specific terms or acronyms

  • IEE = Initial Environmental  Examination
  • NEA = National Environmental Act 
  • CCA = Coastal Conservation Act    
  • CCD = Coastal Conservation Department  
  • PAA = Project Approving Agency