Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (17) | Projects (3) | Library (1)


Updated to: 14 January 2014

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

EIA is legally established in Bangladesh since the issuance of the Environmental Conservation Act in 1995. Its procedures are defined through the Environmental Conservation Rules of 1997. The EIA process in Bangladesh leads up to the issuance of an Environmental Clearance Certificate, which is needed for a project to be implemented. Before the scoping procedure can be started, however, the proponent also has to obtain a Site Clearance Certificate.
The central EIA authority in Bangladesh is the Department of the Environment (DoE) which is part of the Ministry of Environment and Forest (MoEF). An SEA system is not (yet) established in Bangladesh.

Administrative system: relevant features

Bangladesh is divided into seven administrative divisions, each named after their respective divisional headquarters: Barisal, Chittagong, Dhaka, Khulna, Rajshahi, Rangpur and Sylhet. Divisions are subdivided into districts (zila). There are 64 districts in Bangladesh, each further subdivided into upazila (subdistricts) or thana ("police stations"). The area within each police station, except for those in metropolitan areas, is divided into several unions, with each union consisting of multiple villages. In the metropolitan areas, police stations are divided into wards, which are further divided into mahallas. There are no elected officials at the divisional, district or upazila levels, and the administration is composed only of government officials.

Relevant international conventions

Bangladesh has signed the Ramsar Convention in 1992 and the Convention on Biodiversity also in 1992.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

In the appendix of the Environmental Conservation Rules (1997), the following environmental standards are listed:

  • Standards for air (Schedule 2)
  • Standards for water (Schedule 3 )
  • Standards for sound (Schedule 4,5)
  • Standards for Emissions from motor vehicles and mechanized vessels (Schedule 6,7)
  • Standards for Odor (Schedule 8)
  • Standards for Sewage Discharge (Schedule 9)
  • Standards for Waste from industrial units or projects waste (Schedule 10)
  • Standards for gaseous emmission from industry and projects (Schedule 11)
  • Standards for sector-wise industrial effluent or emmission (Schedule 12)

The Rules determine that these standards should be further developed.

Country specific terms or acronyms

MoEF=Ministry of Environment and Forestry
DoE=Department of Environment 
LGED=Local Government Engineering Department
ECR=Ecological Conservation Rules
IEE=Initial Environmental Assessment