Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (14) | Projects (5) | Library (3)


Updated to: 16 June 2014

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

The Environmental Management Act (EMA) of 2004 provides the legal framework for both, EIA and SEA. While national environmental assessment and audit regulations have been issued in 2005, the SEA process was further specified in 2008. The central authority for EIA and SEA is the National Environmental Management Council (NEMC) which operates under the Environmental Department in the Ministry.

Administrative system: relevant features

Tanzania is divided into 30 regions (mkoa), 25 on the mainland and five in Zanzibar (three on Unguja, two on Pemba). Within each region districts (wilaya) have been created to further increase local authority. Councils  operate within districts which are also known as local government authorities. They consist of urban units and rural units. The urban units are further classified as city councils, municipal councils, or town councils.

Although Zanzibar is part of the federal state of Tanzania, it remains indepenent from an administrative perspective in most of its government matters, also in environmental issues. Zanzibar thus has separate government institutions that are responsible for the environment and also a different legal framework for EIA.
This country profile focuses on the situation of Tanzania. There is another country profile for Zanzibar.

Relevant international conventions

Tanzania has been a party to the Ramsar Convention since 2000. It is also a party to the Convention on Biodiversity by ratification since 1996.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

Tanzania has a National Environmental Standard Compendium (NESC)  which is a a collection of various standards prepared at different times. The NESC is divided into three parts:

  • Part 1 comprises of standards that require compulsory compliance. Compulsory standards are further categorized as generic or specific.
  • Part 2 covers those standards that may be implemented on voluntary basis. These includes guidelines standards, codes of practice and others.
  •  Part 3 covers the requisite test methods that should be followed when testing for compliance. The test methods included are referred to in at least one of the specification standards appearing under part 1.

These standards cove air quality, effluent emmission, noise, solid waste and water quality.

Country specific terms or acronyms

NEMA = National Environmental Management Act (No. 19 of 1983)

NEMC = National Environmental Management Council

NCSSD = National Conservation Strategy for Sustainable Development.

MTNR = Ministry of Tourism and Natural Resources

NEAP = National Environmental Action Plan