Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (14) | Projects (3) | Library (1)


Updated to: 16 February 2015

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

The Law on pollution and nuisance of 2001 requires EIA for projects. The EIA system has been gradually been developed since then with the issuance of several Decrees on the EIA process and more specific interministerial Decrees. The Decree 08-346 amended in 2009 is the most recent EIA regulation. A rather comprehensive approach has been developed for the EIA system in Mali as more recent EIA legislation generally refers to Environmental and Social Impact Assessment (ESIA). Even though the Decree 08-346 does mention SEA, the legal framework for SEA is considered as weak as no specific SEA procedures are yet developed.

Administrative system: relevant features

Mali is divided into eight administrative regions (Gao, Kayes, Kidal, Koulikoro,
Mopti, Ségou, Sikasso, Tombouctou) and the capital district of Bamako. Each of them is under the authority of an elected governor. Each region consists of five to nine districts (or Cercles) that are administered by Prefects. Cercles are divided into communes, which, in turn, are divided into villages or quarters. As a result of a major restructuring of local government in 1999 and further minor revisions in 2001, the number of elected local councils increased from less than 20 to more than 700. At national level, the Ministry of Environment and Sanitation (in French: Ministère de l’Environnement et Assainissement (MEA))is responsible for environmental management. It has the following six departments (in French):

  • la Direction Nationale des Eaux et Forêts (DNEF)
  • la Direction Nationale de l'Assainissement et du Contrôle de la Pollution et des Nuisances (DNACPN)
  • l’ Agence de l'Environnement et du Développement Durable (AEDD)
  • l’ Agence du Bassin du Fleuve Niger (ABFN)
  • la Direction Administrative et Financière (DAF)
  • la Cellule de Planification et de Statistique du Secteur Eau, Environnement, Urbanisme et Domaines de l’Etat (CPS)
  • l’ Agence Nationale de Gestion des Stations d’Epuration du Mali (ANGSEM)

The DNACPN is the department which is responsible for EIA.

Relevant international conventions

Mali has signed the Ramsar Convention in 1987 and the Convention on Biodiversity in 1992. A list of conventions that Mali has signed can be found here.

Environmental Standards: relevant features

No information.

Country specific terms or acronyms

EIES = Environmental and Social Impact Study (In French: Etude d'Impact Environnemental et Sociale)
DNACPN = National Directorate of Sanitation, Pollution Control and Nuisance (In French: Direction Nationale de l'Assainissement, du Contrôle des Pollutions et des Nuisances)
MEA = Ministry of Enviroment and Sanitation (In French: Ministère de l’Environnement et Assainissement)
NIES = Environmental and Social Impact Notice (In French: Notice d'impact Environnemental et Sociale)
PCGES = Environmental and Social Management Plan (In French: Plan Cadre de Gestion Environnementale et Sociale)
REIES = Environmental and Social Impact Study Report (In French: Rapport d'Etude d'Impact Environnemental et Sociale)