Central African Republic

Profile General | EIA profile | SEA profile
See also Webpages (1) | Projects (4) | Library (0)
Central African Republic


Updated to: 16 February 2015

Download as PDF

Distinguishing features of the EIA/SEA system

From the outset, the Central Africa Republic Constitution (Act No. 04392 of 27 December 2004) places the environment in its preamble. Indeed, the constitution guarantees the rigorous and transparent management of the environment as unshakable condition for sustainable development. Within the constitutional framework of the environment, the latitude is given to local authorities and all citizens to protect the heritage of the nation. Law No. 07.018 of 28 December 2007 concerning the Environmental Code was promulgated regularly. It is this law that is currently the base of the principle of the environmental assessment. Enabling decrees, ministerial orders and guidelines are still awaited.

NGOs, consulting firms and national professional associations exist and participate in environmental impact studies. People or their representatives are part of the process of decision making on the implementation of projects, through consultations and public hearings.

Administrative system: relevant features

The Central African Republic (CAR) is organized administratively into 17 prefectures including the capital city Bangui, 79 sub-prefectures including the eight districts of Bangui, 177 municipalities, including those of Bangui, 1355 quarters and 7743 Villages.

The institutional framework for the management of the environment in the CAR has evolved considerably over time, beginning with the inclusion of an environmental unit within the Ministry of Water and Forests in the late 1980s and ultimately leading to the establishment of a separate ministry, the Ministry of Environment and Ecology (MEE) in 2009. The daily management of environmental impact assessment is under the responsibility of the Directorate General of Environment.

Relevant international conventions

International conventions signed and ratified by Central Africa Republic in the field of environment include :

- The Convention on Biological Diversity,

- The Convention on the fight against desertification,

- The Convention on Climate Change,

- The International Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species of Wild Fauna and Flora (CITES),

Environmental Standards: relevant features

The study on the inventory of national environmental norms and standards legally in force concluded that the dispositions to implement the provisions of these standards are not yet adopted. National standards do exist only for the development of forest management plans. There are also community texts concerning common rules on the registration of pesticides and common rules on the control of the consumption of ozone depleting substances in the space Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC).

Country specific terms or acronyms

MEE = Ministry of Ecology and Environment